Monday, April 12, 2010

1940 Calais Academy Commencement, Calais, Maine

Program for the 1940 Calais Academy Commencement, held at the State Theatre, Thursday, June 13, at Half Past Two.

See another post that features the Class of 1940 Souvenir Booklet owned by Calais Academy graduate Erma O. Ayer.

Mr. Frank N. Beckett
Mr. Benjamin Corliss
Mr. Percy Adams

School Board
Dr. S. E. Webber
Mr. Fred Leeman
Mrs. Frank N. Beckett, Jr., Chairman

Superintendent of Schools
Mr. Alden W. Allen

Gov. Henry B. Cleaves, Ex-officio
Nelson A. Luce, Ex-officio
I. Warren Merrill, Farmington
John A. Hinckley, Gorham
Henry L. Chapman, Brunswick
Oliver B. Clason, Gardiner
William George Sargent, Castine

College Course:  Lois Catherine Brown; Emma Bernice Campbell; Mary Syphronia Cookson; Paul George Corrigan; Jacqueline Marion Dinsmore; Robert John Eaton; Mildred Harriet Fox; Richard Fletcher Frost; Arthur Ernest Garland; Henry Arthur Gillespie; A. Joyce Hanson; Henry Holland; Anna Elizabeth Hume; Laura Baker Jackman; Patricia Maria Lord; Joan Mary Lovering; Joyce Daphne Lyons; James Harold Marraty; Frances Elizabeth McCurdy; Grace Louise McKay; Dorothy Lois McMillan; Mary Kathleen Nixon; Leroy Higgins Reardon; Eleanor Armstrong Robinson; Wray Dexter Simpson; Marjorie Ruth Smith; Ethel Theresa Stanhope; Madeline Ruth Wasson; Alma Marie Wasson

Commercial Course: Erma Olive Ayer; Dorothy A. Bartlett; Geneva Mabel Carey; Lois Katherine Connolly; Hilda Louise Cumberland; Marshall Leo Drinon, Jr.; Pauline Geraldine Farrar; Miles Paul Frye; Madeline Russell Gerrin; James Herbert Goode; Pauline Winifred Hartford; Richard Wilder Johnson; Marion Jeanne Matthews; Avis Irene McNelly; Norma Shirley Moreside; Louis I. Morrison; Lois Lavonne Noble; Frances Elizabeth O'Hara; John Maurice O'Neil; Maxine Geneva Penney; Lois Irene Phelan; Winston William Phipps; Jacqueline Thelma Porter; Ralph Donald Reed; John Henry Ross; Jean Lorraine Thompson; Stewart Smith Townsend; Pauline Helen Waite; Beryl Dorothea Wheeler; Lois Carey Wiley

English Course: Charles Walter Andrews; Evie Florence Bagley; Gerry Sizen Beckett; Blaine David Campbell; Frank Brannon Hill; William Douglas Hitchings; Pauline May Howard; Berla Stella Lewis; Audrey Bernice McLaughlin; Clayton Charles Mains; Everett Louis Mains; Charles Aubrey Moffatt; Lester Bernard Morrell; Burke Robinson Mowatt; William E. Ogden; Hilda Marie Otto; Doris Geneva Smith; Harry Woodrow Smith; Nelson Filmore Smith; Thomas Gerard Spearin; Hazen W. Spearin; Maxine E. K. Thomas; Milton H. Thornton; Margaret Joyce Thompson

Honor Pupils: Erma Oliver Ayer; Lois Catherine Brown; Dorothy A. Bartlett; Robert John Eaton; Mildred Harriet Fox; A. Joyce Hanson; Henry Holland; Laura Baker Jackman; Patricia Marie Lord; Joan Mary Lovering; Joyce Daphne Lyons; Marion Jeanne Matthews; Dorothy Lois McMillan; Norma Shirley Moreside; Lois Irene Phelan; Jacqueline Thelma Porter; John Henry Ross; Eleanor Armstrong Robinson; Beryl Dorothea Wheeler.  For two years - Evie Florence Bagley and William Douglas Hitchings

Also named
Richard Frost; Reverend Walter P. Lyons; Isabelle Firestone; Miss Marguerite Wilson; Henry Holland; Eleanor Armstrong Robinson; Laura Baker Jackman; Alfred G. Robyn; Robert John Eaton; Lois Katherine Brown; Patricia Marie Lord; Joan Mary Lovering; A. Joyce Hanson; Dr. W. N. Miner; Robert John Eaton; Reverend Ellis Holt; Phelan's Orchestra; Anita Clarke;  Miss Mary Bates; Miss Phyllis Dimitre; Miss Elspeth Larner.

If you have information to share on any of the people mentioned above, please leave a comment or contact me directly.

No comments:

Post a Comment