Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Centennial History of Presque Isle, Maine, 1820-1920

"Presque Isle, 1820-1920", an 8-1/4" x 5-1/2" booklet of the history of Presque Isle, Maine, presumably compiled as part of the town's commemoration of its centenary.   Dedicated to Rev. George M. Park.

Second page of text:
"For the facts and dates of the early history the committee is indebted to Rev. George M. Park, to the records of Hon. Edward Wiggin and those of Mr. George F. Whidden."

Inside back cover:

General Committee

Rev. J. C. Gregory, Chairman
F. P. Loring, Secretary
E. W. Fernald, Treasurer
J. H. O'Donnell
J. A. Riley
F. B. Thompson
Dr. F. E. Bennett
J. Frank Guiou
E. T. McGlauflin
E. M. Libby, Business Manager

An alphabetical list of names of people mentioned in the booklet appear at the end of this post.

The pages individually - click on an image to enlarge it.

Site of Armstrong House

Public Library

First House Built in Village by Dennis Fairbanks

Dr. G. H. Freeman

Hon. C. F. A. Johnson

Aroostook State Normal School

Presque Isle High School

Garden Scene on G. A. Parsons Farm

First Engine Over Bangor & Aroostook Railroad

Hon. T. H. Phair

Alex McPhersons's Prize Potato Field

Main Street

Aroostook Bridge

Bangor & Aroostook Railway Station

Municipal Hall

A. V. R. R. Bridge

Squire John Allen

Presque Isle General Hospital

John AllenC. F. Daggett, Esq.Winslow HallJ. H. O'DonnellMiss Elizabeth Scott, teacher
Col. C. P. AllenMiss Amy Doe of Parsonsfield, teacherJoseph B. HallJames H. OakMrs. Charlotte Scott
John AllenD. DudleyColumbus HayfordPR. J. Smith & Company
Ferdinand ArmstrongA. W. DudleyMiss Minnie Hemphill (Mrs. Frank Tribou)Rev. George M. ParkDaniel Stickney
Catherine ArmstrongHenry DunnMilton HicksDr. F. G. ParkerT
Bertha ArmstrongFrank DyerB. P. HinesMr. ParkhurstF. B. Thompson
James AshbyEMiss Susan Hooper, teacherJonathan ParksFrank Tribou
BG. W. EnglishA. E. HoytMr. and Mrs. George ParsonsW
Dr. F. E. BennettFJCharles N. PerkinsLoren B. Wade
F. S. BickfordDennis FairbanksLewis JohnsonArthur PerryJacob Weeks
Silas BlodgettMiss Hannah Fairbanks, teacherCharles JohnsonSumner PerryMr. Wheeler
John BradleyE. W. FernaldHon. C. F. A. JohnsonCharles PhairGeorge F. Whidden
Irving O. BraggIda M. Folsom; wrote the poem in the bookletJudd - Johnson & JuddThomas F. PhairBenjamin Whidden
David BubarDr. G. H. FreemanLRev. Pingree, Methodist missionaryEmmons Whitcomb
Bull, sawmill ownerGE. M. LibbyDavid ProsserFrank L. White
CW. S. GilmanF. P. LoringRSumner Whitney
Veranus ChandlerRay GodingMLeonard ReedHon. Edward Wiggin
James CloudmanArthur R. GouldLucinda B. MarstonJ. A. Riley
George H. CollinsSamuel C. GreenlawRobert McCannCaptain Rolfe
Mrs. J. M. ConnickRev. J. C. GregoryWilliam McCreeMoses Rose
George Curtis, Jr.J. Frank GuiouE. T. McGlauflinBenton Rose
Mrs. McNamara
Alex McPherson
Lorenzo Merriman

Thanks for stopping by!

No comments:

Post a Comment